Professional Development Awards

Excellence in Clinical Endocrinology Leadership

September 22, 2023

Physician leadership is the future of healthcare. The Excellence in Clinical Endocrinology Leadership (ExCEL) program offers comprehensive leadership training and mentorship to early career physicians of communities underrecognized in medicine and science. Whether you are just beginning as an endocrine fellow or navigating the next steps in your career beyond fellowship, the ExCEL program will help you build leadership skills, explore opportunities for advancement, and expand your network of peers and colleagues. 

Funding support for 2024 is provided by Lilly, Novo Nordisk, and Medtronic. 

2024 ExCEL applications period has now closed. 


ExCEL Program Components

Image ExCEL 2023 recipients display their certificates.

Leadership Skills Building: Education and in-person Training Workshop. ExCEL awardees will participate in developing key leadership competencies and management training through a 2 ½ day Clinical Endocrine Career and Leadership Workshop. The 2024 in-person workshop will be held on March 14-16, 2024, in Washington, DC.

Building Partnerships and Expanding Networks: We will offer ExCEL awardees a structured year-round virtual mentoring course to guide fellows’ long-term success as endocrine physicians. The mentoring network will connect fellows with a core team of mentors, provide quarterly virtual check-ins, and deliver continued training through seminars intended to continue skills development and community building. 

Leadership Skills in Practice: Service and Community Outreach. We will assist ExCEL awardees in enhancing their professional credentials through opportunities to volunteer within the Endocrine Society, travel awards to attend and network at the annual meeting, ENDO, and enhance speaking abilities and near-peer mentoring through a Visiting Physician Faculty series.  

Learn more about the eligibility and application requirements. For questions, contact us at

ExCEL Recipients



Renato Savian, MD

University Of Miami

Khulood Bukhari, MBBS

National Institute on Diabetes & Digestive & Kidney Diseases

Maria Sanchez Valenzuela, MD

University Of Virginia

David Toro Tobon

Mayo Clinic

Monica Fabiola Nogueira Cordeiro, MD      

Montefiore Hospital & Medical Center

Azucena Herrera Chancay, MD

UT Southwestern Medical Center

Gabriel Castano, MD

Texas Children's Hospital

Dieula John, MD, MBA

UCF/HCA Florida Healthcare Endocrinology Fellowship Program Greater Orlando

 Esther Bell, MD

 Nationwide Children's Hospital

Recipient  Institution 
Arya May, DO  University of Alabama-Birmingham
Nwamaka Gloria Akabogu, MD  University of Missouri-Columbia
Ana Menendez, MD  University of Connecticut 
Anota Akofu, MD  University of Missouri-Columbia
Joseph Monye, MD  University of Maryland
Carolina Hurtado, MD   University of California, Los Angeles
Adriana Rodriguez, MD  UPMC Children's Hospital of Pittsburgh
Lisette Patricia Rodriguez, MD  University of Virginia
Ana Del Carmen Rivadeneira Rodriguez, MD   University of Pennsylvania

Recipient  Institution 
 Giselle Blair  DiabesityMD
 Sidra Fnu  UT Southwestern Medical Center
 Woderyelesh Kassa  Virginia Health System
 Sara Khan  Johns Hopkins University Endocrine Fellowship Program
  Eduardo Lopez Martinez  University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill - Serials Dept.
 Faustina Lozada Orquera  Geisinger Health System
 Milay Luis Lam  Meritus Medical Center
 Noura Nachawi  Cleveland Clinic Foundation
 Nejat Naser  George Washington University Hospital

Last Updated:
Back to top

Who We Are

For 100 years, the Endocrine Society has been at the forefront of hormone science and public health. Read about our history and how we continue to serve the endocrine community.